The following is a short Way of the Cross, used by the Franciscan Fathers on their missions.

1st Station – Jesus Condemned to Death
O Jesus! so meek and uncomplaining, teach me resignation in trials.

2nd Station – Jesus Carries His Cross
My Jesus, this Cross should be mine, not Thine; my sins crucified Thee.

3rd Station – Our Lord Falls the First Time
O Jesus! by this first fall, never let me fall into mortal sin.

4th Station – Jesus Meets His Mother
O Jesus! may no human tie, however dear, keep me from following the road of the Cross.

5th Station – Simon the Cyrenean Helps Jesus Carry His Cross
Simon unwillingly assisted Thee; may I with patience suffer all for Thee.

6th Station – Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus
O Jesus! Thou didst imprint Thy sacred features upon Veronica’s veil; stamp them also indelibly upon my heart.

7th Station – The Second Fall of Jesus
By Thy second fall, preserve me, dear Lord, from relapse into sin.

8th Station – Jesus Consoles the Women of Jerusalem
My greatest consolation would be to hear Thee say: “Many sins are forgiven thee, because thou hast loved much.”

9th Station – Third Fall of Jesus
O Jesus! when weary upon life’s long journey, be Thou my strength and my perseverance.

10th Station – Jesus Stripped of His Garments
My soul has been robbed of its robe of innocence; clothe me, dear Jesus, with the garb of penance and contrition.

11th Station – Jesus Nailed to the Cross
Thou didst forgive Thy enemies; my God, teach me to forgive injuries and FORGET them.

12th Station – Jesus Dies on the Cross
Thou art dying, my Jesus, but Thy Sacred Heart still throbs with love for Thy sinful children.

13th Station – Jesus Taken Down from the Cross
Receive me into thy arms, O Sorrowful Mother; and obtain for me perfect contrition for my sins.

14th Station – Jesus Laid in the Sepulchre
When I receive Thee into my heart in Holy Communion, O Jesus, make it a fit abiding place for Thy adorable Body. Amen.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Translate »